collge banner collge banner collge banner

Department of Chemistry

Inception and Growth

The Department was set up when the college was established with a strength of 40 students. Courses offered were B.Sc, MPC (Maths, Physics, Chemistry) and B.Sc MBC (Microbiology, Botany, Chemistry). Subsequently four courses were added MGC (Microbiology, Genetics, Chemistry), MBiC (Microbiology, Biochemistry, Chemistry), BtBiC (Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Chemistry) and BtGC (Biotechnology, Genetics, Chemistry). By 2006, there were seven faculty members and five courses and about 400 students. At present there are three Programmes, with about 450 students in all the three years.